Earl grey ice cream

This is me playing catch up posts. It’s been a wonderful week of cooking at home, one of those times when I’m infectiously enthusiastic about it. The Mrs and I are off to visit her parents up in Yorkshire for the weekend arranged around a mountain bike race on Sunday. My parents are coming up to stay for my Mum’s birthday on Sunday so we’re buzzing around trying to get the house tidy, presents bought and bikes tuned all around the current zeal for cooking.

Oh yes, and clearing the fridge of food that may change into brightly coloured fluff by Sunday night. So far that’s pulled up Norwegian goats cheese and beetroot (beetroot risotto with broad beans & goats cheese), leftover risotto and more Norwegian goats cheese (beetroot risotto arancini with a chicory salad and grilled portabella mushrooms). And one pot of cream that I bought for Early Grey ice cream.

The recipe is an adaptation of Denis Cotter’s rosemary ice cream. I know there are an awful lot of ways that you can make ice cream, some I find too cloying, others are brittle to scoop, but so far I’ve found that this ice cream is just right for me. As ever, please leave comments for other recipes and I’ll be sure to try them out. That’s the way we get better at all this.

Earl Grey ice cream
375ml milk (I use semi-skimmed)
5 egg yolks (save the whites for kulche badami)
125g caster sugar
125ml cream
2 Earl Grey tea bags or 2 tbsp of Earl Grey tea leaves

Put the milk and tea bags in a pan, and bring slowly to a boil. Remove from the heat and leave to infuse for thirty minutes.
In another bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and sugar until pale and creamy. Strain the infused milk through a sieve into the egg mix. Heat this custard gently for ten minutes or so, stirring all the time, until it has thickened slightly.

I find that if I listen to the sound of the custard when you return it to the heat it sounds ‘sloshy’, and the waves of custard slop around very quickly. When it thickens the sound changes, and it doesn’t slosh as much, if at all. It should leave a thin coat on the back of a wooden spoon without running straight off, which you can run your finger through.

Cool it completely, and when cool, stir in the cream and freeze the custard using an ice cream machine.

I served it with some roast Conference pears that were a bit bland, tonight I hope a pear & cardamom tarte tatin will perk the last of the pears up.

20110519-143412.jpg

0 Responses to “Earl grey ice cream”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join 5 other followers

Follow TheFoodFly on Twitter

Twitter Updates

Categories


